Friday, October 5, 2012

Times New Viking - Sleep-In

A little while ago I caught wind that Time New Viking would be coming out with a nice, long EP called Over & Over after what feels like too long a gap since their last album Dance Equired. It's coming out on their first label Slitbreeze, but those expecting a return to Time New Viking's no-fi roots are going to be disappointed. The band is diving further into their new sleeker, indie pop sound, with "Sleep-In" being one of their best tracks with the new style. Jared Phillips' and Beth Murphy's vocals mush together in a perfectly off-kilter sort of way, as the choppy guitar of Adam Elliott and Phillips' drum work keep the song from fall apart as Murphy's keyboard sprawls and swirls everywhere during the song. "Sleep-In" manages to channel all the charm of TNV's early work, but still show how their new style is just as excellent as well.


Times New Viking's Website
Pre-order the Over & Over EP here, from Siltbreeze Records

No comments:

Post a Comment